Deep Fried Beer Battered Bacon Hot Dog

For those of you who like to keep up on trends for fair foods, expect this bad boy to make its round, in your county Fair.

One night I was watching Diners Drive-ins and Dives and they were cooking a bacon-wrapped, beerbattered, deep-fried hot dog! I thought it looked delicious and interesting. I made my own version and a step-by-step tutorial.

You can eat this hot dog on a bun or on a skewer stick.

You will need

6 Hot Dogs

6 slices of Bacon

FOR THE BATTER:

1 egg

1 cup beer

2 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 1/4 cup self-rising flour

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more if you like)

Beat the egg in a medium-sized bowl, add the beer, oil and spices. Mix well.

Gradually add the flour to the mixture, beating until smooth. Let the finished mixture rest for 30 minutes before using it. Refrigerate any remaining batter.

On the TV show they wrapped raw bacon  on the hot dog, but I fried my just until it was light golden brown and still soft enough to wrap.

Take off, let it drain, and cool to touch. Wrap the dog and insert two toothpicks in each hot dog.

You can stop at this point to dip into the batter, but I fry them a bit longer to cook the bacon more.

This is what they look like just before they are dipped. I really want to stop here and eat it just the way it is 🙂

Ready for the batter-

Dip one dog at a time and deep fry. I put the dipped hot dog on a ladle and let it deep fry for a few seconds and then released it to fry.

Here is the final beer battered, bacon wrapped hot dogs-

