I love trying recipes from other blogs, and this Egg Custard Pie is from Hammocks Tracks. I love Egg Custard, so when I saw it on Savannah’s blog I just had to give hers a try. Stop by her blog and check out Savannah’s Savory Bites.

Savannah’s Egg Custard Pie Recipe

I love meeting food bloggers, and even though I don’t get to meet them personally I feel like I know them from talking on our blogs. Savannah suggested we feature a recipe from each others blog. I LOVED that idea and would love to do it again, so thank you Savannah!!!

I love reading her blog and she Home Schools, so we have two things in common…cooking and homeschooling. I wish we lived in the same state so we could do home school outings together 🙂

About the pie, Egg Custard Pie is a very simple pie. Savannah’s recipe is fantastic, but I did add 1/4 teapoon of nutmeg to my pie. The custard is sweet and creamy and bakes up perfectly. I did make my own pie crust, and I hope you will give that a try. Enjoy a nice big slice of Egg Custard!

EGG CUSTARD PIE RECIPE

4 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups milk
3 tablespoons butter
 
1 refrigerated pie crust
 
Directions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C.)
In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla. Mix just enough to incorporate all the ingredients. Set aside. In a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, combine milk and butter. Use a wire whisk and stir constantly until the milk begins to rise in the saucepan at a rapid boil – 5 to 8 minutes. NEVER stop stirring, or the milk will burn. Pour the hot mixture into the egg mixture, stirring as you pour.
 
Line a 9 inch pan with dough. Pour custard mixture into crust. Protect the edges of crust with a ring of aluminum foil.
 
Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes. Filling will appear slightly jiggly. Allow to cool.

 

Perfect Pie Crust {Where Flours Bloom}

