Tags

,

spaghettiIMG_5650

I have been doing a lot of canning the last two weeks, and today was canned spaghetti sauce. I have a wonderful Spaghetti and Meatballs recipe, but I was in the mood to try something new. I tried two different recipes (one with meat, the other no meat). My first batch was good, but I wanted it to be better. I searched Pinterest and found this wonderful recipe. It’s not to garlicky, and that’s what I like…spices are just the right amount.

I called my sister Regina and her daughter Molly over for a taste test. They both loved it, and Molly and Madison both said they could eat it by itself. So, I think this one is a keeper! I will definitely be making this again and again.

Adapted from This Lady’s House

2 lbs Ground Beef 3 tsps. Vinegar 1 1/2 tsps. Each Crushed Red and Cayenne Pepper
1 Cup Onion, chopped 3 tsps. Salt 1 1/2 tsps. Oregano
1 Cup Green Peppers, Chopped 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar 1 tsp Pepper
10 Cups Tomatoes, chopped 1 Tbsp Parsley 1/2 tsp Ginger
(2) 6oz Cans Tomato Paste 3 tsps. Minced Garlic 1/2 tsp Allspice

Brown ground beef in a very large kettle. Add onions and peppers, cook until tender. Add remaining ingredients and simmer until thickened. I let it simmer for two hours. Process in a pressure cooker at 13lbs for 1 hour and 15 minutes (1 hour for pints). yields 3 Quarts -with some left to eat 🙂

10 cups chopped tomatoes

meatIMG_5639

csIMG_5648

 

