Tags

broccoli and sweet potatoes

Want a great tasting and healthy snack? When I saw this post over at Divas Can Cook I couldn’t help but give it a try. I’m glad I did, because it is REALLY good! Roasting broccoli in the oven brings on a whole new flavor. I will be having this snack (or side dish) often. Serve right out of the oven, it’s best hot.

3 small bunches of fresh broccoli

1 medium sweet potato

olive oil

salt

Adapted from Divas Can Cook (I omitted the garlic)

  • Preheat oven to 450
  • Wash and dry broccoli and sweet potato thoroughly.
  • Cut florets from the stalk and set aside.
  • Cut sweet potato into even sized cubes.
  • Place broccoli and sweet potatoes into a large bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Just enough to lightly coat.
  • Toss to distribute the oil.
  • Place broccoli and sweet potatoes on a foil-lined baking sheet in a single layer.
  • Sprinkle with minced garlic and salt.
  • Baked for 12-14 minutes or until sweet potatoes are tender and broccoli is lightly browned on the tips.
  • Sprinkle with more salt if desired.
  • Serve immediately and enjoy.
